Second Life: virtual newsroom on Swine Flu

15May09

American University's Virtual Newsroom in Second LifeThe American University in Cairo’s Virtual Newsroom will broadcast live to the Internet on Saturday, May 16 at 9 am EST (3pm in Italy, 4pm in Cairo). Anyone in the world with broadband access can participate in a live chatstream on the web, while in Second Life the Center for Disease Control briefs journalists and bloggers on swine flu. Special guests include members of Global Voices Online.

The Second Life event is part of a two-day “Blogging the Future” conference on the AUC campus in Cairo (see a PDF of the release here) that brings together 14 bloggers from around the world, 15 online journalists from across the Arab region, and a dozen Egyptian bloggers to discuss the role of information on the internet.

Global Voices has been covering worldwide approach to the Swine Flu crisis – you can view those reports here.

Read here for more details. People can also participate via the live webstream (that is, OUTSIDE Second Life).



No Responses Yet to “Second Life: virtual newsroom on Swine Flu”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: